top of page

Committees

American Club

Main missions: 

  • Organization 

  • Planning

  • Home 

  • Storage 

  • Food preparation 

  • Investment management 

American Club

Main missions: 

  • Organization 

  • Planning

  • Home 

  • Storage 

  • Food preparation 

  • Investment management 

Travel ; Delegations ; Conviviality  

Main missions: 

  • Organizing trips 

  • Welcoming delegations and networking with new expatriates

  • Event planning (4th July, Farewell Dinner, Wine and Cheese, Thanksgiving...)

Culture ; Conferences ;
American literature club

Main missions: 

  • American Literature Club Organization

  • Organization of conferences (relationship with speakers) 

  • Relationship with cultural sites (theatres, cinema) 

  • Relations with cultural associations 

Communication

Main missions: 

  • Tracking site 

  • Social Media

  • Posters, flyers ; goodies

  • Graphism

Join a committee

Thank you for what you sent !

Office

Le Bureau
Laurent Doisneau Herry

President

Orleans and Wichita, it's a long story backed by the one with a capital, that of the Liberation of Orleans on August 16, 1944 by the 137th regiment of US infantry, and that of the Marshall Plan, post-war reconstruction and Franco-American friendship. The Little Train from Wichita to Pasteur Park, the Indian Guardian of the Plains to La Source are testimonies and symbols of this transatlantic friendship. Thanks to my grandparents and parents, I grew up with the conviction that this friendship was unbreakable. To invest myself in this twinning was therefore quite natural with the ambition to make it one of the most active in the metropolis, despite the distance and the time difference... and to federate the American community living in Orléans and its region.  A way to live my American dream. And it's not only Wichita that animates us but also New Orleans since OW! carries actions with the Louisiana metropolis which is the second American twinning of Orléans recently!

Catherine Canute

Vice-president

The Orléans-Wichita association offered itself to me, thanks to Laurent, the president. His motivation to create a link with USA was an opportunity for me to rediscover the country. We had experienced many trips as a family because my now deceased husband worked in an American company. As a former travel guide, I had the desire to re-practice the somewhat distant American English. Day after day, there was no lack of ideas... The desire for beautiful encounters, exchanges, openness to others could only enchant me. Really I'm not disappointed...! 

Our motivation is a success for the association, which does not lack today and for the future, many contacts and many projects..

Isabelle Le Duc.png
Valerie Berteloot

Secretary

   

Dominique Derenne

Assistant Secretary

Patrick Briet 

Treasurer

          homestay ? This is what happens with a pairing. You arrive in New Orleans or Wichita and you are greeted by people you have never seen but who welcome you as if you were part of their family. In turn, when our American cousins come to Orléans, we introduce them to our city, our region and its specialities.

Actively participating in the OW ! association also means meeting people who love the United States and discovering this country, this culture with them.

Yves Landré 

Adjunct treasurer

I came through the American Club sessions, which allowed me to continue practicing English after my retirement. Very attracted by the USA whose history, culture and way of life we are very close to, and seduced by the dynamism of the association et  its Orleans roots, I joined it with the conviction that human relationships are more necessary than ever in a very technological and impersonal universe.   

20190223_115204.jpg
20190223_115204.jpg
Anne-Marie Meriaud

Head of twin associations

 

The United States has always been an adventure for me. During my university studies, I focused part of my projects on this country and since my student years, I have always joined Franco-American or American associations in the different cities where I have stayed. I took part in many exchanges. It, therefore, seemed natural to me to join the association to continue to interfere in American culture and civilization, to communicate with our friends across the Atlantic, and to make this friendship live and shine.

bottom of page

Le BUREAU

 
Laurent Doisneau-Herry

Président

              Orléans et Wichita, c'est une longue histoire adossée à celle avec un grand "H", celle de la Libération d'Orléans le 16 août 1944 par le 137è régiment d'infanterie US, et celle du Plan Marshall, de la reconstruction après-guerre et de l'amitié franco-américaine. Le Petit Train de Wichita au Parc Pasteur, l'Indien Gardien des Plaines à La Source sont les témoignages et les symboles de cette amitié transatlantique. Grâce à mes grands-parents et parents, j'ai grandi avec la conviction que cette amitié était indéfectible. M'investir dans ce jumelage a donc été tout naturel avec l'ambition d'en faire l'un des plus actif de la métropole, malgré la distance et le décalage horaire ... et de fédérer la communauté américaine vivant sur Orléans et sa région.  Une façon de vivre mon "rêve américain". Et ce n'est plus seulement Wichita qui nous anime mais aussi La Nouvelle Orléans puisque OW! porte des actions avec la métropole louisianaise qui est le second jumelage américain d'Orléans depuis peu!

Catherine Canut

Vice-présidente

              L'association Orléans -Wichita s'est offerte à moi, grâce à Laurent, le président. Sa motivation en vue de créer un lien avec USA.fut une opportunité pour moi, de redécouvrir le pays. Nous avions en famille vécu de nombreux voyages car mon époux aujourd'hui décédé travaillait dans un société américaine. En tant qu'ancienne accompagnatrice de voyages, j'avais le désir de re-pratiquer l'anglais américain un peu lointain. Jour après jour, les idées ne manquaient pas... L'envie de belles rencontres, d'échanges, d'ouverture aux autres ne pouvaient que m'enchanter. Vraiment je ne suis pas déçue...! 

Notre motivation est une réussite pour l'association, qui ne manque pas aujourd'hui et pour l'avenir, de nombreux contacts et nombreux projets...

Valérie Berteloot

Secrétaire

              

Christiane Loubet - Mondi

Secrétaire adjointe

              

Patrick Briet 

Trésorier

       Quoi de mieux pour découvrir une ville, une région, un pays que de vivre chez l’habitant ? C’est ce qui se passe avec un jumelage. Vous arrivez à la Nouvelle-Orléans ou à Wichita et vous êtes accueillis par des personnes que vous n’avez jamais vues mais qui vous reçoivent comme si vous faisiez partie de leur famille. A notre tour quand nos "cousins américains" viennent à Orléans, nous leur faisons découvrir notre ville, notre région et ses spécialités.

Participer activement à l’association OW !, c’est aussi rencontrer des gens qui aiment les Etats-Unis et découvrir avec eux ce pays, cette culture.

Yves Landré 

Trésorier adjoint

        Je suis venu par l’intermédiaire des sessions de l’american-club, qui m’a permis de poursuivre une pratique de l’anglais après mon départ en retraite. Très attiré par les USA dont nous sommes très proches par l’histoire, la culture et le mode de vie, et séduit par le dynamisme de l’association et  son ancrage orléanais, je l’ai rejoint avec la conviction que les relations humaines sont plus que jamais nécessaires dans un univers très technologique et impersonnel.             

Anne-Marie Mériaud

Responsable des associations jumelles

 

              Les États-Unis ont toujours représenté pour moi l’aventure. Durant mes études universitaires j’ai axé une partie de mes projets sur ce pays et depuis mes années étudiantes j’ai toujours adhéré à des associations franco-américaines ou américaines dans les différentes villes où j’ai séjourné. J’ai ainsi participé à de nombreux échanges. Il me paraissait donc tout naturel de rejoindre l’association pour continuer à m’immiscer dans la culture et la civilisation américaine, communiquer avec nos amis d’outre-atlantique et faire vivre et rayonner cette amitié. 

Jacques Adelée

Responsable Américain

Les COMMISSIONS

 
American Club

Missions principales : 

  • Organisation 

  • Planification

  • Accueil 

  • Rangement 

  • Préparation des denrées 

  • Gestion des participations 

Voyages & Délégations & Convivialité  

Missions principales : 

  • Organiser les voyages 

  • Organiser l’accueil des délégations & des expatriés

  • Organisation d’évènements        ( 4th July, Farewell Dinner, Wine and Cheese, Thanksgiving...)

Culture & Conférences &
club de littérature américaine

Missions principales : 

  • Organisation club de littérature américaine

  • Organisation conférences ( relation avec conférenciers ) 

  • Relation avec les sites culturels ( théâtres, cinéma) 

  • Relation avec les associations culturelles 

Communication

Missions principales : 

  • Suivi site 

  • Animation Facebook 

  • Affiches, flyers & goodie

  • Création Visuels événements

Intégrer une commission
arrow&v

© 2017 by Orléans-Wichita New Orleans and Inès CANUT